The Former To-o Gijuku Missionary Residence was built in 1900 as a residence for the missionaries who came to teach at To-o Gijuku, the first private school in Aomori Prefecture founded in 1872, and located at current O-temon Square until when the schoolhouse was moved in 1987. After that, this residence building was kept here, and currently Hirosaki City owned it. It is representing the lifestyle of foreigner in Meiji era with display of the furniture and equipment from old days. Currently, there is a café on the first floor and visitors can enjoy break time with the window view of miniature building arts at O-temon Square.
|Address||O-temon Suare, 2-1 Shimo-shiroganecho, Hirosaki-shi, Aomori 036-8356|
|Tel||Hirosaki Tourism And Convention Bureau; 0172-35-3131|
|Fax||Hirosaki Tourism And Convention Bureau; 0172-35-3132|
|Open||9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (Café opens from 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Last order 5:30|
|Closed||December 29th - January 3rd|
|Price||Free for tour around (excepting Café)|
|URL||Hirosaki Tourism And Convention Bureau (English, Korean, Simplified and Traditional Chinese)|